Thursday, June 20, 2024

Fonterra Brands wins 2023 Metcash ‘Supplier of the Year’

Metcash has announced the winners of its 2023 Supplier of the Year Awards, with Fonterra Brands taking out the top spot.

The awards were held at The Venue, Alexandria in Sydney on 11 May 2023, with former Olympic Gold medallist and loved Australian TV presenter Giaan Rooney acting as the Master of Ceremonies.

The annual event provides Metcash the opportunity to acknowledge and thank its valued suppliers and strategic partners for their ongoing support and commitment to the independent retail network.

New Metcash Food CEO Grant Ramage said: “It gives me great pleasure to be able to celebrate our supply partners and thank them for their ongoing support. Through our strategic partnerships, we’ve been able to champion successful independent retailing, deliver better value to our shoppers, and win together.

“Every single one of our suppliers deserves recognition for working in collaboration with our retailers and enabling family-owned businesses to compete with the chains. To those who have received awards, I can’t congratulate you enough. We look forward to our continued strong partnerships as we continue to transform our network, deliver value to shoppers, and strengthen our brands together in the future.”

In response to the win, Fonterra Brands Director Consumer Sales & Marketing (Australia) Xen Xenofontos said: “Fonterra Australia are thrilled to be receiving this award and are proud to continually support independent retailers across Australia. Through our strategic partnership with Metcash, we’ve been able to help Champion Successful Independents, working tirelessly to achieve great outcomes in what has been a difficult year for many. We are grateful for the support of the Metcash team and independent retailers across the country in helping us deliver our vision of being a ‘Consumer Led & Customer Driven’ organisation and we’re looking forward to our continued partnership for years to come.”

As well as being an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of many valued suppliers, several key charities were once again supported at the annual event.

Mr Ramage said: “Our role at Metcash is all about supporting successful independents, who in turn help their local communities thrive. Giving back is part of what we do, and we are delighted to support three amazing organisations including Special Olympics, the Humpty Dumpty Foundation, and the McGrath Foundation.

“We are pleased to be able to donate $300,000 to these three amazing organisations and thanks to the generosity of those who attended the event, we were able to take this amount up to $435,000, passing on $145,000 to each charity, which will go a long way in helping them achieve the great work they do every day.”

IGA and Metcash have been supporting Special Olympics for over 30 years helping support athletes with an intellectual disability achieve their best in sport and life. They have also worked with the McGrath Foundation for over 10 years, helping to fund the placement of Breast Care Nurses in local communities across Australia. And in NSW, have been supporting the Humpty Dumpty Foundation to help provide lifesaving medical equipment for children in hospitals across Australia.

Special Olympics Australia CEO Pierre Comis said: “We are grateful for this incredible donation and for the ongoing partnership that we have with Metcash and IGA. For 31 years Metcash has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to people with Intellectual disability and autism. Their donations help Special Olympic athletes experience joy in towns and cities all across Australia, enabling delivery of weekly sport and physical activity programs in their local communities. We are very proud to partner with an organisation that brings to life their values of inclusion and diversity.”

Twenty category awards were presented on the night. The major award winners are:

  • Supplier of the Year Award Fonterra Brands
  • Foodservice Supplier of the Year Award – Inghams Enterprise
  • Integrated Supply Partner of the Year Award – Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Product Innovation Supplier of the Year Award – Masterfoods Sauce 500ml (Pink Bottle
  • Private Label Supplier of the Year Award – International Foods
  • Produce Supplier of the Year Award – Mitolo Family Farms
  • Bakery Supplier of the Year Award – George Western Foods
  • Meat and Seafood Supplier of the Year Award – Sunpork Fresh Foods
  • Delicatessen Supplier of the Year Award – Primo
  • Perishable Supplier of the Year Award (under $55 million) – Bulla Dairy Foods
  • Perishable Supplier of the Year Award (over $55 million) – Fonterra Brands
  • Ready Meals Supplier of the Year Award – YouFoodz
  • Food Supplier of the Year Award (under $25 million) – Unilever Australasia
  • Food Supplier of the Year Award (over $25 million) – Mars Food
  • Impulse Supplier of the Year Award (under $50 million) – Frucor Suntory
  • Impulse Supplier of the Year Award (over $50 million) – Asahi Lifestyle Beverages
  • Tobacco Supplier of the Year – Phillip Morris Limited
  • Non-Food Supplier of the Year Award (under $25 million) – Real Pet Food
  • Non-Food Supplier of the Year Award (over $25 million) – TCC Distributors
  • General Merchandise Supplier of the Year Award – Duracell Australia.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.