Friday, April 19, 2024

South Australian food and beverage industry award winners announced

The 2019 winners of the South Australian Premier’s Food and Beverage Industry Awards have been announced.

This took place on Friday night at what has become one of the biggest industry nights of the year, says Food South Australia CEO Catherine Sayer.

Ms Sayer highlighted Mexex, which won three awards for innovation in food or beverage, education and service to the industry. The company develops more than 100 new products every year for brands across Australia which are sold worldwide, and recently established the first world gold standard aseptic packaging facility in the Australasian region.

“In the same way, Clean Seas Seafoods’ global leadership in breeding, production and sale of Yellowtail Kingfish has seen them establish year-round global supply of high quality product, recognised tonight when they won the coveted Business Excellence Award, and also the Export Award for 2019,” Ms Sayer said.

“It’s the businesses who look to the opportunities provided by shared capability and capacity who kick-start innovation, regardless of whether they are new or long established.”

Individual awards recognised industry professionals with focus on the future

The individual awards this year have also recognised industry professionals with a strong focus on the future.

Golden North Managing Director Peter Adamo received this year’s Leader Award, and another member of the fourth generation of the Ceravolo family, Joseph Ceravolo, has added his Next Generation Award to the family’s accolades, which also included a Sustainability Award for Ceravolo Orchards and an Innovation Award for its brand Ashton Valley Fresh this year.

Dave Reilly of Gurra Downs, now the largest date producer in the country, has been recognised for his achievements fostering diversification in South Australia’s agricultural industry with the Duncan MacGillivray Entrepreneur Award.

The Awards finished on a sweet note when the Consumer Award was awarded to state favourite and iconic brand Haigh’s Chocolates.

Award winners

Hall of Fame Inductee, sponsored by San Remo: Barossa Fine Foods

Business Excellence Award, sponsored by Show Society Foundation: Clean Seas Seafood, Oleapak

Emerging Business Award, sponsored by Department for Trade, Tourism and Investment: Australian Fresh Dairy

Export Award, sponsored by Visy: Clean Seas Seafood, Oleapak

Innovation in Business Award, sponsored by Food Processing Equipment: Coopers Brewery, Ashton Valley Fresh

Innovation in Food or Beverage Award, sponsored by Department for Trade, Tourism and Investment: Mexex, Naked Blendz

New Product Award, sponsored by Foodland SA: Beston Global Food Company, Woodside Cheese Wrights

Primary Producer Award, sponsored by Thomas Foods International: Ceravolo Orchards

Service Provider Award, sponsored by Moore Stephens South Australia: Mexex, South Australian Analytical Laboratory Services (SAALS)

Sustainability Award, sponsored by Peats Soil & Garden Supplies: Ceravolo Orchards, Ochre Nation (Team Unico)

Leader Award, sponsored by Bickford’s Group: Peter Adamo (Managing Director and Co-Owner, Golden North)

Next Generation Award, sponsored by Macro Group Australia: Joseph Ceravolo (Operations Manager, Ahston Valley Fresh)

Duncan MacGillivray Entrepreneur Award, sponsored by Department for Trade, Tourism and Investment: Dave Reilly (Managing Director, Gurra Downs Date Company)

Education and Training Award, sponsored by The University of Adelaide: Mexex

Consumer Award, sponsored by Statewide Super: Haigh’s Chocolates

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.