Friday, June 14, 2024

South Australian food celebrated

The 2017 South Australian Food Industry Award winners were announced last week at the largest food and beverage industry gathering in Australia – and, overall, the big winner was South Australia, according to Food South Australia CEO Catherine Sayer.

The winners were announced to an audience of more than 700 at the Adelaide Convention Centre at what has become known as the industry’s ‘night of nights’, hosted this year by Matt Preston.

Food South Australia CEO Catherine Sayer said: “This year’s winners typify the diverse range of food and beverage products we manufacture in this state, ranging from on-trend functional foods to traditional family favourites.

“Our state is home to highly skilled entrepreneurs and to businesses of all sizes who are contributing significantly, and consistently, to South Australia’s economic growth.

“It is critical to recognise and build on best practice, and this is something our industry does well, partly through these awards. The South Australian Food Industry Awards program, hosted by Food South Australia and supported each year by Primary Industries and Regions SA, has become a benchmark for industry excellence.

“Over the past 19 years, these awards have become an important springboard to help South Australian businesses grow. For example, we have found that finalists and winners have been able to use their success as a hallmark of quality and to break into important new markets.

“Our industry has to keep working hard to be globally competitive, but programs like the South Australian Food Industry Awards also give us a rare opportunity for industry to come together, and to step outside individual businesses to look at how we work as an industry to maximise collaborative opportunities.

“Everyone involved in these awards, and every South Australian, should be proud of these achievements and the contribution our food and beverage industry makes to our great state.”


2017 South Australian Food Industry Awards Winners

  • San Remo Hall of Fame Inductee: Nippy’s.
  • Duncan MacGillivray Entrepreneur Award: Tom Robinson and Roger Edwards.
  • Bickford’s Group Leader Award: Kris Lloyd.
  • University of Adelaide Education Award: Haigh’s Chocolates.
  • Royal Agricultural and Horticultural Education Foundation of South Australia Business Excellence Award:
    • Beerenberg Farm (more than 15 full-time equivalents (FTEs).
    • Skara Smallgoods (15 FTEs or fewer).
  • Visy Export Award: Beston Global Food Company.
  • South Australian Research and Development Institute Innovation – Food Award:
    • Raw Nation Wholefoods – (more than 15 FTEs).
    • Greenwheat Freekeh (15 FTEs or fewer).
  • Food Processing Equipment Innovation – Business Award: Wakefield Grange.
  • Foodland SA New Product Award:
    • MOO Premium Foods Boysenberry and Super Acai Yoghurt (more than 15 FTEs).
    • Section28 Artisan Cheeses’ ‘Los Hermanos’ cheese (15 FTEs or fewer).
  • Peat’s Soil and Garden Supplies Sustainability Award:
    • Ceravolo Orchards (more than 15 FTEs).
    • Skara Smallgoods (15 FTEs or fewer).
  • Thomas Foods International Primary Producer Award:
    • Ceravolo Orchards (more than 15 FTEs).
    • Bultarra Saltbush Lamb (15 FTEs or fewer).
  • Moore Stephens South Australia Service Provider Award:
    • HMPS (more than 15 FTEs).
    • Wakefield Grange (15 FTEs or fewer).
  • PIRSA Regional Award: Sundrop Farms.
  • Statewide Super Consumer Award: Robern Menz.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.